Racing News

Smith Takes GM Performance Late Model Victory
Jordan The Victor In Limited Sportsman Division

By Tony M. Suttles
David Smith claimed the official victory in the GM Performance Crate Late Model race ran at the Travelers Rest Speedway on Saturday night March 29, 2008.  Smith led every lap of the race on his way to the victory.  Ernest Steifle ran within striking distance of Smith the first five laps of the race before he dropped back in the field.  Once Steifle dropped off the pace Smith’s lead was never in jeopardy the remainder of the race.  Ty Lowe finished second.  Royce Bray finished third.  Brandon Haley finished fourth.  Ernest Steifle finished fifth.
Lamar Jordan claimed the official victory in the Limited Sportsman race.  Gabby Owens grabbed the lead at the end of the first lap and held the lead the next ten laps while several cars battled for the second position.  At the end of the tenth lap Jordan made a bid for the lead with Josh Hoots nailed to his rear bumper.  As soon as Jordan made his move under Owens then he was bumped by Hoots and the top three cars spun.  Lance Miller was placed at the front of the field but within a lap Jordan and Hoots returned to the front of the field.  Jordan held off Hoots the final few laps to take the victory.  Josh Hoots finished second.  Tony Coggins finished third.  Stephen Fox finished fourth.  Lance Miller finished fifth.
Timmy Smith claimed the official victory in the Stock Eight race.  Roger Gilliam led the first seven laps of the race while Timmy Smith moved himself from the fifth position to the second position.  Smith moved to second on the fifth lap and immediately went after the leader.  It took him a couple of laps to bypass Gilliam but once he did Smith pulled away and led the remainder of the race on his way to the victory.  Roger Gilliam finished second.  James Hudson finished third.  Kenneth Bowers finished fourth.  Danny Edmonds finished fifth.
Josh Burgess claimed the official victory in the Renegade race.  Burgess and Roger Gilliam battled the first lap of the race with Burgess taking the top spot at the end of the lap.  Numerous cautions kept the top cars closer at the end  than they probably would have been because the longer the race was under green flag conditions the further away Burgess was able to pull away from his nearest competitor.  Roger Gilliam held off Timmy Smith the last couple of laps to secure the second place finish.  Roger Gilliam finished second.  Timmy Smith finished third.  Bobby Whitworth finished fourth.  Dale Morgan finished fifth.
Travis Burdette claimed the official victory in the Pure Stock race.  Burdette and Brandon Staton battled the first couple of laps in the race before Burdette nailed down the top position.  Once out front Burdette pulled away from the competition to seal the victory.  Bopper Johnson finished second.  Brandon Staton finished third.  Shawn Gibbs finished fourth.  Jerry Snipes Jr. finished fifth.
Kyle Westmoreland claimed the official victory in the Stock Four race.  Westmoreland led every lap of the race and was never challenged for the lead position during the race.  Jody Clark moved to the second position on the final lap and held off three drivers in order to finish in the position.  Jody Clark finished second.  Danny Sexton finished third.  Jeremiah Perry finished fourth.  Russell Shirley finished fifth.
Mack Norris claimed the official victory in the Young Guns race.  Justin Barber led the first five laps of the race with Norris pressing him the majority of the time.  Norris finally made the pass down the backstretch on the fifth lap to take the lead.  A lap later Barber slipped up in turn two and Morgan Gentry inadvertently made contact with him.  The two ran side by side down the backstretch but before they entered turn three Gentry found herself in the outside wall.  Gentry left the race and Barber was placed at the rear of the field.  Once out front Norris led the remainder of the race on his way to the victory.  Barber managed to move from the rear back to the second position but by the time he returned to the front Norris had stretched his advantage to almost a straight away.   Justin Barber finished second.  Junior Searcy finished third.  Zeke Whitman finished fourth.  Wendy Smith finished fifth.



Copyright © 2001 []
All rights reserved.
Revised: February 23, 2013